Last Updated: September 2, 2026
Sunlighten backs up its claims better than most competitors — but this Sunlighten sauna review found the EMF report they lean on is from 2021, five years old, and you can’t see a price for most models without calling. If you want documented tech and don’t mind a sales call, Sunlighten earns its price. If you just want a hot sauna and a price you can see today, look elsewhere first.
Sunlighten’s been making infrared saunas for 25 years, built in Vietnam, and they say they’re the only sauna company that stays hands-on through every step of making their own product. Functional medicine doctor Mark Hyman has used one for over 20 years. That’s real weight behind the name — the kind smaller brands don’t have yet.
Among the infrared sauna brands we’ve covered, Sunlighten sits at the top of the pack on documented technology. PulseIQ delivers red light, near, mid, and far infrared as separate, independently controlled wavelengths — every other brand we’ve tested just blends them into one general heat. That’s not marketing language. It’s a real difference in how the heater’s built, backed by a patent and named lab testing.
PulseIQ / Independent Wavelength Control
The Five Product Lines
| Line | What Makes It Different | Max Temp | Starting Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| mPulse | Sends red light, near, mid, and far infrared as separate signals instead of blending them. Tablet, 6 preset wellness programs, app updates over WiFi. | Not published | Inquiry only |
| Amplify (Full-Spectrum) | Built for heat — thicker walls, double-pane glass, stronger heaters, aimed at a faster, deeper sweat. | 170°F (ideal conditions) | Inquiry only |
| Amplify RED | Same intense-heat hardware as Amplify, leans harder into red and near-infrared light. | 170°F (ideal conditions) | Inquiry only |
| Signature | No touchscreen, no smart programs — just far-infrared heat and a button. | Not published | $5,099 |
| Solo System | Portable. The only line that isn’t a full wood cabin. | Not published | Not published |
Every line uses the same patented SoloCarbon heater coating and comes with chromotherapy lighting built in. There’s also a Custom line for buyers who want a specific layout or finish, priced separately.
mPulse isn’t one sauna — it’s a size chart with names attached. Aspire is 1-person, Believe is 2-person, Conquer is 3-person, Discover is 4-person, Empower is 5+. See “mPulse Believe” anywhere? That’s just the 2-person mPulse.
What Sunlighten Actually Has Proof For
This is the part most versions of a Sunlighten sauna review skip past. Sunlighten backs several of its claims with named labs and downloadable reports — more than we found for a lot of competitors at this price.
| Claim | Tested By | Result | Report Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| EMF | Vitatech Electromagnetics | 0.5 mG or less, some readings as low as 0.1 mG | 2021 |
| Air quality / VOCs | APEX Environmental Consultants | Only trace VOC levels, no detectable metals or airborne carbon black | Not stated |
| Adhesive safety | Franklin International | Non-toxic, non-hazardous | Not stated |
| Heater output quality | Bruker Analytics | 99% of the heat comes out as usable infrared, not wasted energy | March 2022 |
| Electrical safety | ETL (Intertek) | Certified | Checkable in Intertek’s directory |
The heater coating itself is patented — US8737827B2, a real number you can look up, developed with a named chemistry consultant. Not just a phrase on a box.
PRL Take: We expected Sunlighten’s “virtually undetectable” EMF line to be empty marketing, the way it’s been for several other brands we’ve covered. It isn’t. Vitatech Electromagnetics — the same lab Sun Home and Clearlight use — actually tested Sunlighten’s heaters and got 0.5 mG or less. The catch: that test is from 2021. Sun Home’s is from January 2025. Both numbers are real. One’s just four years newer. If EMF is your deciding factor between these two brands, that’s the actual tiebreaker — not whether the data exists, but how old it is.
Sunlighten Isn’t “Medical Grade” — Here’s What It Actually Is
Sunlighten says this plainly on its own site: its saunas are General Wellness products, not medical devices, under FDA rules — not meant to treat, cure, or prevent anything. That’s an honest disclaimer, worth knowing because “medical grade” gets thrown around loosely in the red light therapy world. Some standalone red light panels really do carry FDA clearance for specific uses. We found nothing showing Sunlighten’s saunas carry that same clearance. It’s a wellness product, labeled correctly as one.
Where the marketing gets ahead of itself: Some Sunlighten marketing mentions “FDA-approved materials” — a real but narrow claim about specific parts, not the sauna itself. Skim past it and it’s easy to walk away thinking the whole device is FDA approved. It isn’t, and Sunlighten’s own compliance language says so directly, just a few clicks from the marketing copy.
Price and Warranty
Every line except Signature is sold by quote only. Signature starts at $5,099; mPulse and Amplify depend on who you talk to and when. We broke this trade-off down fully in our Sun Home vs Sunlighten comparison — short version, you can’t compare real numbers without a phone call. And with the whole lineup sitting at a premium price point, if budget is what’s driving your decision, our best infrared saunas under $3,000 guide covers options that skip the sales call entirely.
On warranty: residential cabins (mPulse, Signature, Amplify) get 7 years on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on controls, 1 year on glass doors and audio. Here’s the catch — Sunlighten’s own warranty page says “lifetime” coverage just means seven years, not forever. And it only covers parts. You pay for labor, for the technician, and for shipping the replacement part to you. The controls warranty shrinks over time too — full coverage year one, 60% year two, 30% year three.
Temperature and Heat-Up Time
Sunlighten pushes back on the “hotter is better” idea other brands sell. Their own position: the point of an infrared sauna is getting infrared energy into your body, not piling heat on top of it, and the air temperature barely matters to how well that works. They recommend 100–150°F, most people settling around 120–130°F. That’s also why Amplify’s 170°F is framed as an option for people who specifically want more heat, not the brand’s main pitch — mPulse and Signature are built to stay lower on purpose.
On heat-up time, Sunlighten gives one general number instead of a figure per model: 45–60 minutes to preheat, warming roughly 1°F a minute. We couldn’t find separate published times for Aspire, Believe, Conquer, Discover, or Empower — see our Sunlighten heat-up time deep dive for how that stacks up against other brands.
Electrical Requirements
This one trips people up: Sunlighten’s power needs aren’t the same across the board. They depend on the line, and sometimes the size within it.
| Line | Capacity | Electrical |
|---|---|---|
| mPulse | 1–5 people | 120V or 240V (1–2 person stays 120V, 3+ needs 240V) |
| Amplify RED | 2–4 people | 240V across the board |
| Amplify (Full-Spectrum) | 2–4 people | 120V or 240V (differs by size) |
| Signature | 1–2 people | 120V across the board |
| Solo | Portable | 100–120V or 220–240V, dual-compatible, no dedicated circuit needed |
Signature is the only line that never needs 240V, no matter the size. mPulse and standard Amplify both start on 120V small, then jump to 240V once you size up — and most homes don’t already have a 240V outlet sitting around, so that’s an electrician visit before delivery. Amplify RED skips 120V entirely; every size needs 240V. See our infrared sauna installation cost guide for what that typically runs.
Pros and Cons
What’s good:
- Real third-party testing on EMF, VOCs, adhesives, and heater output — more paperwork than most competitors bother publishing
- PulseIQ’s separate-wavelength control (mPulse) is a genuine technical difference, not just a feature name
- 25 years in the category, hands-on manufacturing, an actual patent behind the heater coating
- The “built to last” pitch has receipts — thicker boards, CNC-cut panels, an in-house EMF recheck before it ships
What’s not:
- The EMF report Sunlighten leans on is five years old — see our full Sunlighten EMF breakdown for the complete picture
- No published pricing on mPulse or Amplify — you have to call to find out, and it’s not cheap either way
- Marketing phrases like “medical grade” or “FDA-approved materials” can sound more official than they are
- Warranty is parts-only — labor, technician visits, and return shipping are on you, and “lifetime” just means seven years
- mPulse and Amplify both need 240V at larger sizes — only Signature stays 120V across its whole lineup, and Amplify RED needs 240V regardless of size
- The site describes both eucalyptus and basswood without being clear on which lines use which
Who Should Buy Sunlighten
Buy Sunlighten if: you want documented, patented heating tech from a brand that’s been doing this for 25 years, and PulseIQ’s separate-wavelength control is something you’d actually use.
Skip it if: you want to see a price before you talk to anyone, or you want EMF data tested more recently than 2021.
2-Person / PulseIQ Independent Wavelengths
Bottom Line
The short version of this Sunlighten sauna review: on documented technology, this is the strongest brand we’ve covered — PulseIQ’s independent wavelength control genuinely sets it apart, and the paper trail behind it is real. The EMF number just needs an asterisk for its age, and you’ll need to call for a price either way. If that technology and a quarter-century of history are worth a phone call to you, Sunlighten earns the top spot.
FAQ
Is Sunlighten’s EMF claim real or just marketing?
A common question in any Sunlighten sauna review: it’s real. Vitatech Electromagnetics tested Sunlighten’s heaters at 0.5 mG or less, with some readings as low as 0.1 mG. The report’s from 2021 — older than some competitors’ — but it’s a genuine third-party result, not an unverified claim.
Is Sunlighten FDA approved?
No. Sunlighten’s saunas are General Wellness products under FDA rules, not medical devices, and the company says so directly on its own site. “FDA-approved materials” refers to specific parts, not the sauna as a whole.
How much does a Sunlighten sauna cost?
Signature starts at $5,099. mPulse and Amplify aren’t published — you request a quote, and the number moves depending on who you talk to.
What’s the difference between mPulse and Amplify?
mPulse sends red light, near, mid, and far infrared as separate, independently controlled signals. Amplify is built for higher heat and full-spectrum output, reaching 170°F under ideal conditions.
Sources
| Source | Used For | Last Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Sunlighten EMF safety page | Vitatech EMF test results and date | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten safety page | VOC and adhesive testing (APEX, Franklin International) | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten heater technology page | SoloCarbon patent, Bruker Analytics test | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten craftsmanship page | Manufacturing location, construction details, wood sourcing | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten saunas collection page | Product line structure and positioning | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten official warranty page | Warranty terms and coverage details | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten blog: temperature philosophy | Brand’s stated position on temperature | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten blog: new user protocol | Recommended temperature range, heat-up time | August 2026 |
| Sunlighten official line comparison table | Electrical requirements by line (120V vs 240V) | August 2026 |